Celiac disease diet

Celiac disease is a sickness that causes your body to be unable to absorb the gluten found in wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Gluten acts like a poison to people with celiac disease, because it damages their intestines. This damage usually causes diarrhea and keeps your body from being able to use many important nutrients from the foods you eat, including vitamins, calcium, protein, carbohydrates, and fats. Without these nutrients, every organ in your body can become deprived of nourishment.

The good news is that you can control celiac disease very easily by avoiding foods that contain gluten. By following a gluten-free diet, you can help your body to repair the damage to your intestines and live a normal, healthy life.

Remember that you will have to follow the gluten-free diet every day for the rest of your life. Eating small amounts of gluten, even if you don’t have any symptoms, can do further damage to your body.

If you are having diarrhea and/or other stomach problems caused by celiac disease, the following tips might be helpful for you:

The following table will help you to choose gluten-free foods:

Gluten-Free Diet Recommendations

Choose these foods/beverages Avoid these foods/beverages
Breads/Cereals Breads and rolls made from arrowroot, carob, corn, pea, potato, rice, sorghum, soybean, or tapioca starch or flour; pure corn tortillas, cornmeal, hominy, grits, popcorn; potatoes, potato chips; enriched rice, rice noodles, wild rice, rice cakes, rice wafers, puffed rice, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies, Kellogg’s Sugar Pops, Post’s Fruity and Chocolate Pebbles cream of rice. Breads and rolls made from wheat, rye, oats, barley, buckwheat, durum, or graham; commercial mixes for biscuits, cornbread, muffins, pancakes, waffles; wheat germ; bran; bulgar; millet, triticale; crackers; pretzels; millet; melba toast; matzo; bread crumbs; pastry; pizza dough; regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni, and other pasta; dumplings; cereals containing malt or malt flavoring derived from barley; cereals containing wheat, rye, oats, barley, bran, buckwheat or bulgar.
Fruits/Vegetables All plain, fresh, frozen, canned or dried fruit; fruit juices; fresh frozen or canned vegetables; white and sweet potatoes; yams. Any thickened or prepared fruits; any creamed or breaded vegetables; commercially prepared vegetables with cream sauce or cheese sauce.
Meats/ meatless protein All fresh meat, poultry, fish, and shellfish; dried peas and beans; nuts; peanut butter; soy protein meat substitutes (without fillers); tofu. Breaded fish or meats such as meatloaf, meat patties, croquettes, swiss steak; Any meat prepared with wheat, rye, oats, barley, or gluten stabilizers such as frankfurters, cold cuts, sandwich spreads, sausages, and canned meats.
Dairy Whole, 2%, skim, dry, evaporated, or condensed milk; yogurt (except with cereal flavor); cream; American cheese, and all aged cheeses such as Cheddar, Swiss, and Parmesan. Commercial chocolate milk and drinks; malted milk; non dairy creamers; cereal beverages such as Postum and Ovaltine; processed cheese foods and spreads.
Fats and oils Butter, margarine, vegetable oils; homemade salad dressings. Commercial salad dressings, and mayonnaise; gravy and cream sauces thickened with flour.
Sweets Brown and white sugar; gelatin; jelly, jam, honey, molasses; fruit ice. Prepared cake and cookie mixes; donuts and pastries; ice cream (with gluten stabilizers); ice cream cones; pies; bread puddings; pudding thickened with flour.
Beverages Pure coffee; tea; carbonated beverages (except root beer); fruit drinks; mineral and carbonated waters; unfortified wines and rums, saki; vermouth; cognac. Instant coffee; beverage mixes; nutritional supplements; alcoholic beverages made from cereal grains such as gin, whiskey, vodka; sherry, fortified wine, beer, ale, and malt liquor.
Condiments Salt; pepper; herbs and spices; pure cocoa; food coloring; food flavoring extracts; monosodium glutamate. Any condiment prepared with wheat, rye, oats, or barley such as some catsup, chili sauce, soy sauce, mustard, bottled meat sauces, horseradish, some dry seasoning mixes, pickles, steak sauce, distilled white vinegar; soup broth and bullion.

Grains are used in processing many foods, so read labels carefully. The following tips will help you to find "hidden gluten" on food labels.

Avoiding “Hidden” Gluten

Ingredient Permitted
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) or
Texturized Vegetable Protein
Only those from soy or corn.
Flour or cereal products Those from rice, corn, potato or soy.
Vegetable protein Soy or corn.
Malt or Malt flavoring Those derived from corn.
Starch Cornstarch only.
Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch Arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, maize.
Vegetable Gum Carob or locust bean; cellulose or sugar gum; gum acacia, arabic tragacanth or xanthan.
Soy Sauce, Soy Sauce Solids Those without wheat.